Factfulness
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Recorded Books, Inc., 2018.
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Physical Description
8h 51m 0s
Format
eAudiobook
Language
English
ISBN
9781501920264

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Hans Rosling., Hans Rosling|AUTHOR., Anna Rosling Ronnlund|AUTHOR., Ola Rosling|AUTHOR., & Richard Harries|READER. (2018). Factfulness . Recorded Books, Inc..

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Hans Rosling et al.. 2018. Factfulness. Recorded Books, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Hans Rosling et al.. Factfulness Recorded Books, Inc, 2018.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Hans Rosling, et al. Factfulness Recorded Books, Inc., 2018.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID60baaa40-73c3-1508-f63c-e4a5e130563b
Full titlefactfulness ten reasons we re wrong about the world and why things are better than you think
Authorrosling hans
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2021-12-01 19:33:45PM
Last Indexed2021-12-01 19:33:57PM

Book Cover Information

Image SourcecontentCafe
First LoadedJun 24, 2021
Last UsedDec 2, 2021

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2018
    [artist] => Hans Rosling
    [fiction] => 
    [coverImageUrl] => https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/rbd_9781501920264_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 13521376
    [isbn] => 9781501920264
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Factfulness
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [duration] => 8h 51m 0s
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Hans Rosling
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [1] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Anna Rosling Ronnlund
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [2] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Ola Rosling
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [3] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Richard Harries
                    [relationship] => READER
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => History
            [1] => Political
        )

    [price] => 1.84
    [id] => 13521376
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => AUDIOBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => For fans of Freakonomics and Thinking, Fast and Slow, here is a book by Hans Rosling, the scientist called "a true inspiration" by Bill Gates, that teaches us how to see the world as it truly is. Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carrying opinions for which you have strong supporting facts. When asked simple questions about global trends-what percentage of the world's population live in poverty; why the world's population is increasing; how many girls finish school-we systematically get the answers wrong. So wrong that a chimpanzee choosing answers at random will consistently outguess teachers, journalists, Nobel laureates, and investment bankers. In Factfulness, Professor of International Health and global TED phenomenon Hans Rosling, together with his two long-time collaborators, Anna and Ola, offers a radical new explanation of why this happens. They reveal the ten instincts that distort our perspective-from our tendency to divide the world into two camps (usually some version of us and them) to the way we consume media (where fear rules) to how we perceive progress (believing that most things are getting worse). Our problem is that we don't know what we don't know, and even our guesses are informed by unconscious and predictable biases. It turns out that the world, for all its imperfections, is in a much better state than we might think. That doesn't mean there aren't real concerns. But when we worry about everything all the time instead of embracing a worldview based on facts, we can lose our ability to focus on the things that threaten us most. Inspiring and revelatory, filled with lively anecdotes and moving stories, Factfulness is an urgent and essential book that will change the way you see the world and empower you to respond to the crises and opportunities of the future.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13521376
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the World--and Why Things Are Better Than You Think
    [publisher] => Recorded Books, Inc.
)
1